i would wake up as your friend

I would wake up as your friend
And help you move on with your life
Help you smile again, laugh again
Talk to our friends as if nothing had happened

I would wake up as your friend
And give you courage
To delete my photos, my videos, my number
So you wouldn’t be saddened

I would wake up as your friend
And say thank you to your cat
To your clothes and your stove
To your silent backyard

I would wake up as your friend
And help you be free of me
Of that day when I left you for good
And made your life hard

I would wake up as your friend
So I could remind you not to lose yourself
The way I had lost my heart to someone else
And then lost myself entirely

I would wake up as your friend
So we could hate me together
So you would know I was never deserving
Of love and affection you had given me

***

Freaky Friday prompt by the Daily Post. Well, it’s already Saturday morning here in Bali, Indonesia.

spew on me

